House of Delegates


Speaker of the House of Delegates (pictured): Betsy Blake
Speaker-Elect of the House of Delegates: Elliot Turner


2017-2018 Meeting Dates

November 12, 2017

February 11, 2018

June 16, 2018 (At Annual Convention)

Mission and Role

The mission of the House of Delegates: As its “owner-representative”, the Board will devote time and energy to considering the interests of SCPhA’s membership, with the House of Delegates being a pivotal component of this “linkage.” 

1. The House of Delegates will maintain authority over:

  • Amendments to the Association’s Constitution and Bylaws.
  • Decisions regarding expulsion of a member for improper professional conduct or violation of obligations under the Constitution and Bylaws of the Association.

2. The House of Delegates will also serve in an advisory role to the Board, providing policy input, particularly in the formulation of SCPhA’s Ends policies and on public position statements of SCPhA.

  • The Board’s annual cycle of reviewing and reconsidering Ends will include a plan for garnering and incorporating House of Delegates’ input into that process.

SCPhA Delegate Code of Ethics

As a representative in the House of Delegates I will:

  • Listen carefully to my teammates, and constituents I serve,
  • Respect the opinion of my fellow representatives,
  • Respect and support the majority decisions of the House,
  • Recognize that all authority is vested in the House of Delegates when it meets in legal session and not with individual House representatives,
  • Keep well-informed of developments that are relevant to issues that may come before the House,
  • Participate actively in House meetings,
  • Call to the attention of the House any issues that I believe will have an adverse effect on our association and our profession,
  • Attempt to interpret the needs of constituents to the House and interpret the action of the House to the constituents,
  • Declare any conflicts of interest between my personal life and my position in the House of Delegates, and avoid voting on issues that appear to be a conflict of interest.

As a representative in the House of Delegates I will not:

  • Be critical, in or outside of the House meetings, of fellow House representatives or their opinions,
  • Use the House or any part of the Association for my personal advantage or the personal advantage of my friends or relatives,
  • Discuss the confidential proceedings of the House outside the House of Delegates meeting.

Fundamentals of the Rules of Order

How to Submit a Resolution Flow Chart


SCPhA House of Delegates Members

There are four (4) regions outlined in the state from which delegates will be elected each year. The number of delegates allotted will be determined based upon the number of active members in that region as of January 1st of each year. Each region will be allowed one (1) delegate per fifty (50) active members, or the greater fraction thereof.
*To be considered an active member, you must be a graduate of an accredited school of pharmacy and be a current member of SCPhA.

Member At-Large- Brian Clark

Midlands Region: Director - Jennifer Baker
Five delegates will represent Aiken, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Richland, and Saluda counties.
Lynn Connelly
Carrie Smoak
Taylor Evans
Carmen Monts

Pee Dee Region: Director - Jarrod Tippins

Three delegates will represent Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter and Williamsburg counties.
Kelly Jones
Jane Player
Jillian Wilkes

Upstate Region: Director - Ron Guida
Five delegates will represent Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Chester, Greenville, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, Union and York counties.

Maggie Blauret
Deborah Bowers
Linda ReidTiffaney Threatt

Low Country Region: Director - Dave Shirley
Three delegates will represent Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper and Orangeburg counties.

Jeff Brittain
Christina Muller
Mel Routen

Representatives from each of the following groups also have seats on the HOD:
SCCP-MUSC Campus (3 seats; 2 students, 1 dean or appointee)
Dean or appointee: Cathy Worrall
Student Delegate: 
Student Delegate: 

SCCP-USC Campus (3 seats; 2 students, 1 dean or appointee)
Dean or appointee: Amy Grant
Student Delegate: 
Student Delegate: 

South University School of Pharmacy (3 seats; 2 students, 1 dean or appointee)
Dean or appointee: Kelly Clark
Student Delegate: 
Student Delegate: 

Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy (3 seats; 2 students, 1 dean or appointee)  
Dean or appointee: Cliff Fuhrman, Eileen Ward
Student Delegate: 
Student Delegate: 

SC American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (1 seat): Lori Dupree

SC Society of Health Systems Pharmacists (1 seat):

Academy of Pharmacy Technicians (1 seat): OPEN

SC Board of Pharmacy (1 seat; Ex-Officio Non-Voting Delegate): Terry Blackmon 

SC DHEC (1 seat; Ex-Officio Non-Voting Delegate): Lisa Thomson